Support female DJs, Producers, Vocalists, Promoters and Musicians.

HomeRadio / ChatCalendarGalleryFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 

Basic Mixing Techniques & Equipment

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
DJ-PS

Female
Number of posts : 3
Music Taste : UKG - New SKool!
My Mood : Hyper
Registration date : 2008-05-04

PostSubject: Basic Mixing Techniques & Equipment   Mon May 05, 2008 10:27 am

I'm by no means a pro but started out and self taught so thought I would post up what worked for me! lol!

First of all it's HARD and it's an art, everyone's style is different so what works for other people might not work for you! I bought my decks and mixer without really knowing quite how everything got together and worked so here are some tips:

Don't even consider belt driven decks, always go for the best Direct Drive decks you can get, Technics are the best but Stantons are also great. Mine are only Numak TT1650's (very very basic) but they pitch up/down 10% and do the job for me!

There are so many mixers to choose from but it all depends on how many bits of equipment you intend to run as to how many channels you need. For a basic set up 2 channels is enough but if you intend to add CD decks you will need 4 channels or you will forever be swapping leads over! Quite a few mixers have a USB function which is advertised as being simple to use, however, I have never been able to get mine working properly and neither could Numark Technical Support Rolling Eyes . To record now I just use the additional (supplied) manual lead which plugs into the record part of the reverse of the mixer and then into the microphone line in on pc. My mixer is fine for straight mixing but higher end mixers also have effects such as echo, loop, reverb etc (that's my next step), two that spring to mind are the Numark 500FX and the Pioneer DJM600 but both quite serious money.